top of page

Final Year Project, Barbarian Shaman - Week 06

My final module for my university degree is a self managed project for which we will produce a high quality piece that demonstrates our skills to the best of our ability. We are allowed to choose the piece to work from and the media in which to create it, with regular feedback from our tutors to monitor our progress.


Current Progress:

In my last entry I experimented with creating some of the essential materials that would be needed for the majority of my projected and exploring further the multi layer function of Substance Painter.

Concept Art


This week I have been working to finish one aspect of my model to a tertiary level of detail, which includes cracks or fabric grain.


Staff Base Mesh


I decided to finish the staff first because it could easily be separated from the rest of the model, making it easier to work with, and also featured many skills that I could transfer to the rest of the project.


I decided to swap out the small metal skulls from the concept for a few different bones which I felt would tie in better with the primitive outfit.

Boar Skull


The skull on the top of the staff most closely resembled that of a wild boar so I was able to find some turnaround references for the curve of the tusks and the grinding pattern found on herbivore molars.

Staff Accessories


I used various alphas to create the tertiary detail that helped create the grain of the bones and the fabric pattern for the bindings. They were also useful for adding the cracks and chips into the bone and were well worth the investment due to the large quantity of bone that is featured through the character and can add a lot of high resolution detail easily.

Staff Accessories

I decided to use these bones for the accessories because the had a nice form that combined well to curve around each other.

Fabric Bindings

The fabric bindings brought this item together and added a nice change in texture to contrast with the rough bone. I hope that when I create the material for the straps, I will be able to increase the height detail of the fabric grain to make the item more distinct in it's appearance.



Next Stage:

With the staff complete, I am now working towards adding this level of detail to the rest of the character, using the alpha's in combination with my hand sculpting to increase the impact of the overall design.

bottom of page